NY Times – Digitally Disconnecting is Okay!

Came across this great article this morning. (https://nyti.ms/2l08tXL) Although it diverges from the spirit of this blog, I think it highlights the importance of “disconnecting.” From a family law standpoint, disconnecting could allow individuals more time to focus on the ‘here and now’ with those around them. Without statistical evidence to support it (who wants to go long periods of time without their cell phones and mobile internet!?) I think that disconnecting would potentially cause families to strengthen and thus reduce the rising divorce rates observed nationwide.

On another note, there is a reference to a new book I plan to pick-up related to this topic. If anyone else is interested in checking it out, here is the Amazon.com listing for the book. (http://a.co/0RMPgo0) For $18.36, why not?!

Author: lawandgovernmentblog

Currently a second-year law student at Syracuse University College of Law. I am exploring the wide expanses of the Law l, but I am currently leaning towards the intersection of civil litigation, family and business law. I spent my first summer of law school as a legislative fellow with Pennsylvania’s House of Representatives where I worked daily on taxation issues across the state. Prior to law school I was an investment analyst for a large international consulting firm. Then I transitioned to a large public state pension where I evaluated hedge fund and real estate investments totaling approximately $5 billion. I hope that by sharing my knowledge and experiences, I may help others to decide if either a career in investments or a law degree may help them to reach their personal and professional goals.

Leave a comment